Horror Movie Podcast Ep. 130: Bride of Chucky (1998) and Seed of Chucky (2004) – Franchise Review Part 3 of 4

HMP Bride of Chucky Art

Hi! This is HORROR MOVIE PODCAST. Wanna play? Chucky gets lucky this week when the good guys at HMP return from the 2017 Movie Podcast Network Meetup Event to bring you Part 3 of our CHILD’S PLAY FRANCHISE REVIEW.

Just as we’ve done with the Halloween films back in October 2014, the Friday the 13th films back in February of 2015, and the Scream films and the Nightmare on Elm Street films back in the Fall of 2015, we’re giving you in-depth analysis of the entire Chucky franchise, all seven films, including the new release Cult of Chucky (2017). This time, Jay of the Dead, Dave “Dr.Shock” Becker and Wolfman Josh play with the Bride of Chucky (1998) and Seed of Chucky (2004).

Horror Movie Podcast is typically a bi-weekly show that’s released every other Friday. If you’d like to support the podcast, please subscribe to our podcast free in iTunes, and leave us a review! And remember, we love getting your voicemails, so call in with more recommendations and comments at this number: (801) 382-8789 Thanks for listening to Horror Movie Podcast where we’re Dead Serious About Horror Movies!


SHOW NOTES:

I. Introduction
— HMP’s four-year anniversary! Oct. 25, 2017
— 2017 MPN MeetUp post-mortem
— Forthcoming MeetUp podcasts


 

[ 0:12:49 ] Preface to Bride of Chucky (1998)
— Jay’s confession and punishments…

[ 0:21:38 ] II. Feature Review: BRIDE OF CHUCKY (1998)
Jay of the Dead = cannot rate at this time
Wolfman Josh = 5 ( Rental )
Dr. Shock = 6 ( Rental )

— Listener feedback for “Bride of Chucky”

HMP Bride of Chucky Heigl


[ 1:02:47 ] III. Feature Review: SEED OF CHUCKY (2004)
Jay of the Dead = cannot rate at this time
Wolfman Josh = 4 ( Avoid )
Dr. Shock = 5 ( Low-priority Rental )

— Listener feedback

HMP Seed of Chucky BTS


 

IV. Wrap-Up / Plugs / Ending


JOIN US NEXT FRIDAY ON HMP: In Episode 131 our Child’s Play Franchise Review continues with discussions of Curse of Chucky (2013) and Cult of Chucky (2017).


NOTE FOR NEWCOMERS: If you love this podcast, there are 36 episodes of two other great podcasts that precede this one. Just scroll back through our archives, or use the links in the sidebar on the right.

Leave a comment or e-mail us here: HorrorMoviePodcast@gmail.com

LINKS FOR THIS EPISODE:

—Don’t miss our 31 Days of Halloween written reviews, every day, all month!

—There’s still time to join us for our 2017 MPN Meetup Event in Salt Lake City! Email Josh for details on buying a ticket at thewolfmanjosh@gmail.com.

If you haven’t subscribed to the Movie Podcast Network Special Features feed yet (which has occasional Horror-related releases), here is a great episode that might tempt you: MPW’s Mini Review Mania!

—Don’t miss Jay’s latest 5 Minutes of Horror entry: The 10 Most Essential American Horror Movies That Best Represent the Genre

Jay of the Dead’s links:
Follow Jay of the Dead and Horror Movie Podcast Official Twitter
Horror Movie Podcast Official Facebook
Jay of the Dead covers new releases in theaters on Movie Podcast Weekly
And if you’d like to e-mail Jay of the Dead with a good Beastly Freaks recommendation: BeastlyFreaks@gmail.com

Wolfman Josh’s links:
Follow Josh on TwitterInstagram and Facebook @IcarusArts
Horror Movie Podcast Official Instagram @HorrorMovieCast
Josh covers the Monsters Universe, new and classic, on UniversalMonstersCast.com
Follow UMC on Twitter @MonstersCast
Josh covers streaming online movies on MovieStreamCast.com
Follow MSC on Twitter @MovieStreamCast
Like MSC on Facebook

Dr. Shock’s links:
Dave writes daily movie review on DVDinfatuation.com
Follow Dave on Twitter @DVDinfatuation
Like Dave’s DVD Infatuation, now on Facebook
Dave covers the Monsters Universe, new and classic, on Universal Monsters Cast
Dave covers Westerns on We Deal in Lead
Dave appears on another horror podcast called Land of the Creeps

Dr. Walking Dead’s links:
Order Kyle’s new book! How Zombies Conquered Popular Culture: The Multifarious Walking Dead in the 21st Century
Order Kyle’s previous books American Zombie Gothic and Triumph of The Walking Dead
Follow Kyle on Twitter @DrWalkingDead

You can always contact us by e-mailing HorrorMoviePodcast@gmail.com. Or you can call and leave us a voice mail at: (801) 382-8789. And you can leave us a comment in the show notes for this episode.

Special thanks goes out to singer-songwriter Frederick Ingram for the use of his music for Horror Movie Podcast and to composer Kagan Breitenbach for the use of his classical rearrangement of Fred’s tune. Additional thanks to Kagan for his composition and production of the “Screaming Online” segment music used in this episode.

If you like Horror Movie Podcast, please subscribe and leave us a review in iTunes. It really helps our visibility. You can also subscribe on GooglePlay or Stitcher. If you want to support the show even more, you can do so by becoming a patron of Movie Podcast Network and subscribing to our “Special Features” episodes by paying a small fee to get at least one bonus release each month through our official Movie Podcast Network Patreon page!

Note: The Movie Podcast Network episodes are bonus podcasts for our financial supporters. MPN does not replace Horror Movie Podcast and, further, HMP will always remain free.

Thanks for listening, and join us again on Halloween for HORROR MOVIE PODCAST!

13 thoughts on “Horror Movie Podcast Ep. 130: Bride of Chucky (1998) and Seed of Chucky (2004) – Franchise Review Part 3 of 4

  1. I wanted to share my October Halloween Challenge list of movies. I finished my 31 movies a day early as it is my wife’s birthday today and I want to celebrate with her, and tomorrow I am going to set up my Halloween decorations, take my daughter out trick r treating and go through her candy. Therefore here is my list, the first of many I hope to see. I will start by saying I did this list of movies I had not seen previously, as I hope in th volume of movies finding some unknown gems for myself. This year I watched movies from the 30’s up until recent releases. With all this preamble here is my list, with a rating and year of release, and some notes.
    Bill’s October List
    A few notes. While enjoyable, I thankfully found a few gems, a couple of disappointments, one avoid, and one wtf?.
    Positive – Gerald’s Game, 2017. A slow burn at times, one of the better psychological horror/thrillers, well written, well actedsome good practical effects, it will probably make my year end top 10 list
    The Ninth Guest , 1934 – I watched this on a whim on Youtube and is well worth a watch for anyone, one of the first survival/whodunnit movies, it predates 10 Little Indians, could easily be redone today
    The Final, 2010 – torture porn light, ever been tormented by the “cool crowd” in high school?, if so, you will enjoy this dark edged teen film
    It Stains The Sand Red, 2016 (or does it count as 2017?anyone know?)-low buudget, smartly written zombie apocolypse films, some humour and well shot
    Here Alone, 2016 – yet another zombie apocolypse survival film but much darker and more “realistic”, worth a watch
    Happy Hunting, 2017 – a modern version of The Most Dangerous Game or Turkey Shoot, it has its flaws but it had me hooked until the end
    Disappointing – Leatherface, 2017 – it bored me at times and disjointed to me
    Homicidal – I usually enjoy William Castle films but I was left wanting more from this film
    Avoid – Rizen – 2017, a sci fi/horror/war/survival. low budget, misguided, boring characters, tryying to survive NATO cold war experiments while walking through an unknown path…omeone else please watch to affirm how bad it is…please
    WTF – We Are The Flesh – cannot describe here-art house/Jadarowsky feel/incestious/survial…visuaally stunning at timess but you walk away feeling dirty
    1. Sole Survivor, 1983, 5.5/10
    2.The House of Secrets, 1936, 6/10
    3.Happy Hunting, 2017, 6.5/10
    4. The Man in Black, 1950, 5/10
    5. Nails, 2017, 6/10
    6. Happy Death Day, 2017, 5.5/10
    7. Ryde, 2017, 6/10
    8. The Ninth Guest, 1934, 6.5/10
    9. Seven Deaths In The Cat’s Eye, 1973, 4.5/10
    10.The Man With Two Lives, 1942, 6/10
    11. Deepstar Six, 1989, 5/10
    12. Bigfoot, 1970, 5/10 (so bad it’s good B creature feature)
    13. We Are The Flesh, 2016, 5.5/10
    14. Hack House, 2017, 4/10
    15. The Kindred, 1987, 6/10
    16. The Rizen, 2017, 2.5/10
    17. The Final, 2010, 6.5/10
    18. Psychomania, 1973, 6/10
    19. Timber Falls, 2007, 6/10
    20. Leatherface, 2017, 5/10
    21.Homicidal, 1961, 5.5/10
    22. The House on Sorority Row, 1983, 6/10 (a fun film in my opinion)
    23. Gravy, 2015, 6/10
    24. Killer’s Delight, 1978, 5.5/10 (more crime drama than horror but well acted)
    25. Tower of Blood, 2005, 3/10
    26. Screamers aka Island of The Fishman, 1979, 5.5/10
    27. The Mad Butcher, 1971, 5.5/10 (proto slasher, I liked Victor Buono in this role)
    28. Gerald’s Game, 2017, 7/10
    29. Here Alone, 2016, 6.5/10
    30. It Stains The Sand Red, 2016 (or 2017?), 6.5/10
    31. Escape Room, 2017, 5.5/10

  2. In regards to a Child’s Play/Chucky prequel:

    In theory, I think the idea makes plenty of sense. I tend not to think about it often since Chucky is so busy being the most adorable grotesque killer ever, but the name Charles Lee Ray does hold some name value. I do feel strongly that if The Lakeshore Strangler (That has to be the name of the movie, right?) was ever made, the last person who should play Ray should be Brad Dourif. As amazing as Dourif is, if you’re going to be watching a “Chucky” movie with Dourif, you’re going to want to see the doll. Choosing a different actor will allow The Lakeshore Strangler to come across as entirely different, allowing for expectations to be far more stripped down.

    I feel just as strongly about this as I do about ever re-casting Chucky, the doll, to be voiced by anyone other than Dourif.

    • Sounds good to me. Can we have a scene where he puts on a conveniently placed mask that resembles a doll during some criminal or murderous act for no reason other than as a throwback to the other movies?

      • Depending on the tone of the The Lakeshore Strangler, there’s a wide variety of things that they could do. Whether it’s something more direct and outlandish such as Charles Lee Ray coming across a store with Good Guy Dolls and scoffing at it and saying something cutsey like “What an ugly looking doll” or something more subtitle like having a Good Guys Dolls advertisement be seen in the background of some shot.

        He could even just randomly strangle someone who happened to buy their child a Good Guy Doll.

        • They should try to get Dourif in the movie in some way. They could get a Paul Dano type to play a younger Charles Lee Ray who has a deep curiosity in the occult and voodoo while also being a very brutal serial killer. That way they can bring in the voodoo too and maybe redeem it. Have an undead spirit, a Lao, or small demonic looking spirit act as a guide or someone Charles Lee Ray can see and interact with. Let Dourif voice the spirit. Let everything spiral out of control leading to the first movie.

  3. I want Jay to review The Windmill of 1916, I actually liked it but maybe I am not the right person to say this because I am Dutch a designer it takes place in the Netherlands. Greetings Gerbrand.

      • Yes I meant 2016, it’s also known as the Windmill Massacre. Don’t expect the best cgi but for a small country as Holland and the money that is available for making this kind of movies they did a great job. Keep up the good work.

  4. A 31 Days of Halloween review that ended up not being posted:

    Title: Bride of Chucky
    Year: 1998
    Director: Ronny Yu

    Warning Review Contains Some *Spoilers*

    Following the events of Child’s Play 3, Chucky has been blown to pieces. Being brought back to life by his long time girlfriend, Tiffany (Jennifer Tilly), their reunion doesn’t go as planned. Feeling as if Chucky never loved her, Tiffany begins humiliating Chucky, driving Chucky to kill and transfer her soul into the body of a female doll. Now with a plastic partner in crime, Chucky sets out to return to his body at a cemetery in New Jersey. There Chucky and Tiffany can use the Heart of Damballa, an amulet that Charles Lee Ray was buried with, to allow both of them to transfer their souls into the bodies of a young couple, Jesse and Jade, who have been paid to unknowingly transport these two living dolls to New Jersey.

    For one reason or another, the Child’s Play series seemed firmly dead by the mid 90s. Whether it’s because Child’s Play 3 underperformed at the box office, horror was dying out in general by the start of the 90s, or the British tragedies involving children being killed and Child’s Play 3 being blamed, it didn’t seem as if Chucky would ever return to the big screen. To be fair, other major 80s horror stars like Jason Voorhees, Michael Myers, Leatherface, and Pinhead all seemed to struggle at this point in time as well. All of that changed with the release of 1996’s Scream, causing horror to suddenly become popular once more. Two years after the release of Scream, horror fans could celebrate the return of their favorite plastic based killer – Chucky.

    Bride of Chucky is very much so a product of its time. I’m immediately taken back to the late 90s as the film kicks off with Rob Zombie’s “Living Dead Girl” playing in the opening credits. For the entire duration of the film, the popular rock bands at the time all got a chance to add a sampling to the soundtrack. There’s even some musical pieces that made me think of Scream. Speaking of Scream, while Scream was self referential to slashers in general, so was Bride of Chucky self aware of its own franchise. Bride of Chucky isn’t afraid to poke fun at itself by bringing up Chucky’s tendency to be repetitive with his weapon of choice. Throughout the movie, characters encounter the Good Guy Doll and react accordingly, excited to come across a forgotten relic from their childhood. The characters’ reactions represent reactions of the moviegoers, excited to once again see a movie killer that they hadn’t been interested in for a long time.

    A big part of the change in tone to fit in with a post-Scream horror world, Bride of Chucky smartly decided to focus more on comedy than they had ever had before. It is, afterall, a movie about a killer doll. It’s far easier to help the audience laugh at the outrageousness than to try and cause them fear. Again, it’s the time period. I do not believe a fully serious horror movie about a killer doll would have worked. Considering the fact that Brad Dourif was back as the voice of Chucky, and his antics were always the highlights of the previous films, it made it easy for Bride of Chucky to be an entertaining film solely as a vehicle for Chucky to be his outrageous self and to see his reactions to not only how the world has changed since the events of Child’s Play 3, but also the new twist of having a love interest. It’s fun to watch Chucky have typical real life problems such as trying to figure out a way to get along with his partner while coping with having her in his life.

    Speaking of Chucky’s bride, I have to give Bride of Chucky a lot of credit for the success of creating such an entertaining new character like Tiffany. Considering the fact that the series is now four movies in, it would be more predictable if new additions ended up not working out. Instead, Tiffany became such an entertaining part of the movie that she forced her way into becoming an essential part of the series. Although Tiffany is psychotic like Chucky, she has a heart, allowing for the film to have a bit of depth. There’s strong connections between Bride of Chucky and the original bride film, Bride of Frankenstein. The roles are reversed though as The Monster in Bride of Frankenstein was rejected by his love, in Bride of Chucky, it’s Tiffany who feels unloved by her little monster, Chucky. Just as The Monster decided that he and his bride deserved to die together at the end of Bride of Frankenstein, so too did Tiffany at the conclusion of Bride of Chucky. Tiffany is an oddly tragic character. She waited ten long years to reunite with her beloved, only to feel rejected. Realizing that her entire life and love for this man of plastic was a waste.

    For the most part, one has to commend the Child’s Play/Chucky series for its continuity. It’s hardly perfect, but when you compare it to other popular horror franchises (Halloween, A Nightmare on Elm Street, Friday the 13th, and even as far back as Universal’s Frankenstein series), it’s shockingly well connected. This is not only true for Bride of Chucky, but it remains true to this day with the seventh film, Cult of Chucky. While Bride of Chucky doesn’t go out of its way to acknowledge the previous films, it doesn’t try to ignore them. At the start of the film, we’re shown newspaper clippings from the events of the original movie. Considering Tiffany obtained the Chucky doll from the police officer in pieces, it’s clear that Chucky was still blown up as he was at the end of Child’s Play 3. That’s all great. There is one glaring continuity issue. With the third film taking place eight years after the events of Child’s Play 2, that means that film took place in 1998. That’s the same year Bride of Chucky was released. This fact seems lost on the filmmakers as it’s mentioned that it’s been ten years since Charles Lee Ray was originally killed. I suppose it is possible that this movie takes place mere weeks or months since the events of Child’s Play 3, but without any references to what happened Kent Academy, that seems highly unlikely. Admittedly, looking around online, I have found places that credit Bride of Chucky as taking place a month after Child’s Play 3. There’s also a bit of retconning to claim that at the time of Ray’s death, he was wearing an amulet called the Heart of Damballa, which allowed him to originally put his soul into the body of the Good Guy Doll. I even pulled out my DVD of Child’s Play 1 to see if perhaps Dourif was wearing an unrelated necklace and it was later decided to make it into something far more important, but Dourif wasn’t. The retconning and introduction of the Heart of Damballa does serve the purpose of being the means in which Chucky and Tiffany can put their souls back into human bodies to avoid that pesky “Hide the soul” nonsense. Still though, considering the fact that this film was made years after the original trilogy, it’s impressive that they changed so little, despite how easy it would have been to reboot the series in an entirely different direction.

    Since it had been so long since the previous Child’s Play film, I found the general puppetry of Chucky and Tiffany to be a vast improvement over the earlier films. It’s a great time period as they were able to do far more with the puppetry without relying on CGI to manipulate Chucky like they would in the most recent Chucky films. Thanks to Tiffany’s approach to being creative, there’s some enjoyable kills including involving a bunch of nails and later a mirror on the ceiling. In both cases, these Tiffany-based kills leave Chucky blown away, reacting just as the viewer is. These kills are some of the highlights of the entire series, being bloodier and more unique than in any previous Child’s Play film.

    With so much of the care and attention on the wild antics of Chucky and Tiffany, the story does suffer. I can’t say I care about Jade and Jesse as star-crossed lovers. I think the problem is I’m now looking at the film with adult eyes. As a result, it makes it difficult for me to understand the logic of their actions. Jade is only seventeen years old, so the idea that she and Jesse are going to run off with only five hundred dollars to their name and get married, seems like an overreaction to Jade’s uncle getting in the way of their relationship. An uncle that flat out admits that he doesn’t care what happens to Jade after she turns eighteen, which I would have to think isn’t that far off. Then once the deaths begin and no one is sure who is behind the killings, with Jade suspecting Jesse, Jesse suspecting Jade, and the police under the impression that they’re both guilty, feels under developed. There just isn’t enough time dedicated to their sub-plot, making especially the distrust between Jesse and Jade feel a little pointless. Furthermore, the two main plots of Chucky and Tiffany’s relationship and Jade and Jesse trying to be together, could each be their own movie. When they’re combined into one film, one of the plots has to suffer and it certainly wasn’t going to be the Chucky-based one.

    Overall, Bride of Chucky managed to freshen Charles Lee Ray up enough to return to the big screen and compete in this new post-Scream era of horror. The increase of humor pushes the series into horror/comedy status which is not only the biggest strength of the film that helped it become popular, but is likely also the biggest weakness as some will be put off by the fact that isn’t serious enough. As someone who has always enjoyed the antics of Chucky above all else in the series, Bride of Chucky was a welcomed addition to the series.

    Rating/Recommendation:
    7.5/10/A recommendation to buy it

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *